Posh Virtual Receptionist Alternative for Service Trades (2026)
Posh lists live receptionist plans from $65 a month and an AI-plus-live option, with US-based staff and month-to-month terms. Where it fits trades, its gaps (Spanish hours, no recordings) and how TheKeyBot compares.

Posh is a live virtual receptionist service with published prices, from $65 a month plus $2.30 a minute up to $1,900 for 1,000 minutes, and an AI-plus-live option that hands routine calls to AI and the rest to its US-based receptionists. A trade shop that wants a person on hard calls and quotes its own jobs can do well with Posh; a shop that needs Spanish around the clock, call recordings, or calls that end with a price and a booked tech should compare an AI receptionist such as TheKeyBot. This guide covers both sides, with Posh's October 2026 prices.
Disclosure: TheKeyBot publishes this guide and makes the alternative compared here. We don't rank or score anyone. Every Posh fact links to Posh's own pages as we read them in October 2026; where Posh doesn't publish something, we say so.
Key takeaways
- Posh publishes its prices, which is rarer than it should be. Live plans run from $65 a month plus $2.30 a minute to $1,900 for 1,000 minutes, effective January 1, 2026, with no extra fees and month-to-month terms.
- It offers a hybrid. Posh's AI-plus-live plans use the same monthly prices with "mixed minutes," and callers can reach a human receptionist at any time.
- Spanish is guaranteed only on weekday business hours. Posh's FAQ guarantees English and Spanish answering Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern; after that it depends on who's available.
- Posh doesn't record calls. Its FAQ says so plainly and suggests a third party if you need recordings.
- TheKeyBot is AI-only, with limits of its own. Lite ($149) takes messages and doesn't quote or book; Core ($500) quotes from your price book, books and dispatches, but there's no receptionist behind it, only transfers to your own people.
- At very low volume, Posh can cost less than Lite. At 10 calls a month in our worked example, Posh's 50-minute plan is $130 and Lite is $149; by 30 calls, Lite is cheaper.
Posh vs TheKeyBot at a glance (as of October 2026)
Posh facts come from its pricing, AI, FAQ, home services and integrations pages.
| Posh | TheKeyBot | |
|---|---|---|
| Who answers | US-based live receptionists; AI on the hybrid plans | An AI receptionist on every plan |
| Hours | 24/7/365 | 24/7 |
| Entry price | $65 a month plus $2.30 a minute (no minutes included) | Lite: $149 a month, 100 calls, then 50 cents a minute |
| Plans | $130 for 50 minutes up to $1,900 for 1,000; overage $2.20 down to $1.90 a minute | Core $500 for 500 minutes; Pro $750 for 1,000; Elite $1,200 for 2,500 |
| What's counted | Receptionist time on the phone or doing work for your account | Lite: calls, then minutes. Core and up: minutes |
| Rounding | Not stated on the pages we read | Not stated on our pricing page |
| Spanish | Guaranteed weekdays 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern; otherwise when available | English and Spanish, detected automatically (features) |
| Prices on the call | AI option can quote ballpark pricing on minor repairs, per its home services page | Lite: no. Core and up: quotes from your price book (automated quoting) |
| Booking | Through integrations such as Calendly, Google Calendar and Acuity | Lite: no. Core and up: books during the call (scheduling) |
| Transfers | To you when your app status says you're accepting transfers | Core and up can transfer to a live tech when needed (AI call handling) |
| Dispatch and payments | Not described | Core and up: GPS dispatch, POS and payments |
| Recordings | Not recorded | Records all calls |
| Users | Unlimited | Unlimited on Core and up |
| Setup and trial | Setup in 24 to 48 hours; free trial of 7 days or 250 minutes, no card | Lite in about 10 minutes; 14-day free trial on Core, Pro and Elite; Lite's first 5 answered calls free |
| Contract | Month to month | No contracts; cancel anytime |
What does Posh do well?
Clear, published pricing. Posh lists every live plan with its included minutes and overage rate on its pricing page, and even shows the math: on the Chïc plan, 15 minutes in a month costs (15 × $2.30) + $65 = $99.50 before taxes. It says all plans include all features at no additional cost, bills on a true monthly cycle, and works on month-to-month agreements. Compare that with live services that make you fill in a form or take a sales call before you see a number.
People where people help. Posh's receptionists answer 24/7/365, and its FAQ says they're all US-based and work from its office in Virginia Beach, Virginia. You set your status in the Posh app to accept transfers or not, and you can schedule that status ahead. Receptionists can also make outbound calls for you on request, such as confirming appointments.
An AI-plus-live hybrid. Posh's AI page describes an AI receptionist that greets callers, takes messages and answers common questions, and transfers immediately whenever a caller wants a human, passing along what it collected so the caller doesn't repeat themselves. Its FAQ says you can route calls by caller type, time of day or keyword, sending routine calls to AI and priority calls to a live receptionist. On the home services page, the plumbing example has AI pre-qualifying residential callers, scheduling and quoting ballpark pricing on minor repairs, with live agents taking major installations and commercial jobs.
Useful extras included. Every plan includes the Posh app for calling and texting from your business number, voicemail with transcription, message delivery by app, email or text, and unlimited users, because pricing is based on receptionist time, not seats.
Easy to try. Setup usually takes 24 to 48 hours, and the free trial runs seven days or 250 receptionist minutes, whichever comes first, with no credit card required.
What should a trade shop check before choosing Posh?
Spanish after hours. Posh guarantees English and Spanish answering at no extra charge Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern; outside those hours, bilingual receptionists help if they're available. Night and weekend calls are where many trade emergencies land, so if Spanish matters, ask what happened on Spanish calls at those hours during your trial. In the Census Bureau's 2018-2022 survey, Spanish made up 61.1% of languages other than English spoken at home, about 13% of U.S. residents by our arithmetic, and your share may be higher.
No recordings. Posh's FAQ says it doesn't record calls, to avoid playing a recording notice that would break the in-office impression, and suggests a third party if you need recordings. That's a deliberate choice, but it means no recording to replay when a customer disputes the price they were quoted. Our guide to recorded quoting and phone disputes covers why some shops want one.
What counts as a minute. Posh counts receptionist minutes as time spent on the phone with your callers or completing an activity for your account, such as sending your message. The pages we read don't say how partial minutes are rounded. Ask, and ask how the hybrid's "mixed minutes" count AI time against your allowance; the published overage for AI time is half the live rate, such as $1.10 versus $2.20 on the 50-minute plan.
Integrations are general, not trade software. Posh lists Zapier connections to over 3,000 apps and scheduling through tools like Calendly, Google Calendar and Acuity. The tools its FAQ names, Clio, Lexicata and Rocket Matter, are law-firm software; its integrations page describes Rocket Matter as a legal case management platform. No field service tool is named, so ask how a booked call reaches yours.
A message is still a callback. Without the AI option, a Posh receptionist takes a message or transfers to you. On a price question, that usually means a callback, and in a 2020 Pew Research Center survey, 67% of U.S. adults said they don't answer unknown numbers but check voicemail if one is left. Callers also shop: the FTC's home improvement advice is "Get multiple estimates" and "Don't automatically choose the lowest bidder" (FTC). The shop that answers the price question clearly, first, is in the best position.
Answering still protects your ads. If you run Google Local Services Ads, Google's ad ranking page says missed calls may negatively affect your responsiveness. Posh and TheKeyBot both answer every call around the clock, so either one closes that gap; the difference is what happens after hello.
Posh's hybrid or an AI-only receptionist: which design fits?
The two products split the same call differently, and the difference is who catches the hard calls.
| Situation | Posh AI-plus-live | TheKeyBot Core |
|---|---|---|
| Routine question or booking | AI handles it, per your routing | AI handles it and can book |
| Caller asks for a person | Transferred to a Posh receptionist at once, with the details passed along | Transferred to one of your own people if your rules allow; otherwise a message or callback |
| Complex or upset caller at 2 a.m. | A Posh receptionist can take over | Your on-call tech, if you route it there |
| Price question | AI can quote ballpark pricing on minor repairs, per Posh's home services page | Quotes from your uploaded price sheet, with fallback rules |
| Getting the job to a tech | Transfer or message | Texts the closest available tech the job details |
| Proof afterward | Messages and transcription; no call recordings | Recorded call and CRM entry |
Posh's design fits shops that want a person available for any caller who asks, at any hour, and are comfortable paying by the minute for that. TheKeyBot's design fits shops that want the AI to finish the job, quote, book, deposit and dispatch, and whose own techs can take the rare call that needs a person. Neither fixes everything. Our guides to what an AI receptionist can't do and warm vs blind transfers go deeper on the handoff.
What does Posh cost at trade volumes? A worked example
Every number here is an assumption: each call uses 3 minutes of receptionist time, list prices as of October 2026, live plans only, before taxes. Swap in your own volume, and remember that Posh counts time spent completing activities for your account, so add a little for the message each call produces.
To size a plan from your own records, take last month's answered calls, multiply by the average call length from your phone system, add an allowance for write-up time, and pick the plan whose included minutes plus overage costs least at that total. Then do the same for your busiest month.
| Calls a month (minutes) | Cheapest Posh live plan | TheKeyBot Lite | TheKeyBot Core |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 (30 minutes) | Vogue, 50 minutes included: $130 | $149 | $500 |
| 30 (90 minutes) | Elegant, 100 minutes included: $215 | $149 | $500 |
| 150 (450 minutes) | Prestigious, 350 minutes plus 100 at $2.00: $900 | $149 plus 50 calls at 3 minutes and 50 cents: $224 | $500 |
| 300 (900 minutes) | Lavish, 500 minutes plus 400 at $1.95: $1,755 | $149 plus 200 calls at 3 minutes: $449 | $500 plus 400 minutes at 45 cents: $680 |
At 10 calls, a human service costs a little less than TheKeyBot Lite, which surprised us when we ran it. From 30 calls up, Lite is cheaper, and at 150 calls Core is $400 a month below Posh. The products still differ: Posh gives you a person (or a person behind an AI), Lite gives you messages, and Core gives you quotes, bookings and dispatch with no receptionist.
If you're weighing a hire instead, the Bureau of Labor Statistics puts the median receptionist wage at $18.27 an hour, or $38,010 a year in 2025, about $3,168 a month before payroll taxes, for 40 of the week's 168 hours. Posh's $1,900 plan buys 1,000 minutes, about 16.7 hours of receptionist time, spread across every hour of the week. For more on the trade-offs, see AI receptionist vs human answering service.
Which option fits your shop?
| Option | Best for | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|
| Posh live plans | Shops that want a US-based person on every call, quote jobs themselves, and take a modest number of calls | Per-minute costs climb with volume; Spanish guaranteed only weekday business hours; no recordings; rounding not published |
| Posh AI-plus-live | Shops that want AI on routine calls with a human receptionist always one transfer away | How mixed minutes count isn't spelled out; ask before you size a plan |
| TheKeyBot Lite | Solo operators who want every call answered in English or Spanish and will call back to price | Doesn't quote or book; no human receptionist; messages arrive by Telegram |
| TheKeyBot Core and up | Shops that want calls to end with a quote, a booked slot, a deposit and a texted tech | $500 a month to start; no receptionist behind the AI; quoting is built around locksmith-style price sheets, so other trades should test their price list; full setup takes 1 to 2 weeks for most businesses (FAQ) |
For other live services, see our AnswerConnect and Ruby comparisons.
How do you test Posh and TheKeyBot side by side?
- Start both trials the same week. Posh's trial is seven days or 250 minutes with no card. TheKeyBot Lite's first 5 answered calls are free (up to 7 days), and Core, Pro and Elite include a 14-day free trial (pricing).
- Give both the same script: service area, hours, emergency rules and, for any plan that quotes, your real prices.
- Place the same calls on both: a 2 a.m. emergency, a price question on a common job, a Spanish caller after 6 p.m. Eastern, a caller who asks for a person, and an out-of-area address. Our trial test-call script has the wording.
- Check the minutes. Compare each call's length with the minutes each portal shows, and ask Posh how its after-call activity time was counted.
- Score the result, not the voice: could you act on what reached you without calling back to ask something basic?
What about call recording?
Posh doesn't record calls. TheKeyBot's AI call handling page says it records all calls, so its greeting needs a recording notice. Federal law allows recording when "one of the parties to the communication has given prior consent" (18 U.S.C. § 2511(2)(d)), but, as Posh's own FAQ notes, many states require callers to be told. This is not legal advice; check your state's law and our call-recording consent guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Posh cost?
As of October 2026, Posh's live receptionist plans start at $65 a month plus $2.30 a minute with no minutes included, then run from $130 for 50 minutes to $1,900 for 1,000 minutes, with overage between $2.20 and $1.90 a minute. Its AI-plus-live plans use the same monthly prices with mixed minutes.
Does Posh have AI receptionists?
Yes. Posh offers AI-plus-live plans in which an AI receptionist handles routine calls and transfers callers to a live Posh receptionist whenever they want a human, passing along what it collected.
Does Posh answer calls in Spanish?
Posh guarantees English and Spanish answering at no extra charge Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern. Outside those hours, bilingual receptionists help if they're available.
Does Posh record calls?
No. Posh's FAQ says it doesn't record calls and suggests using a third party if you need recordings. TheKeyBot records all calls, so its greeting should include a recording notice.
Is Posh month to month?
Yes. Posh says it works on month-to-month agreements with no long-term contract, bills on a true monthly cycle, and offers a free trial of seven days or 250 receptionist minutes without a credit card.
Is TheKeyBot cheaper than Posh?
It depends on volume. In our example at 3 minutes a call, Posh's 50-minute plan ($130) costs less than TheKeyBot Lite ($149) at 10 calls a month, but from 30 calls up Lite costs less, and at 150 calls TheKeyBot Core ($500) is $400 below the cheapest Posh live plan.
Can TheKeyBot transfer callers to a person?
Core and up can transfer a call to a live tech on your team when needed, but there's no receptionist service behind it. If you want a human receptionist available for every caller who asks, Posh's hybrid is built for that.
Sources
- Posh virtual receptionist pricing (live plans effective January 1, 2026): https://posh.com/pricing/
- Posh AI-enabled live receptionists and AI-plus-live pricing (effective June 1, 2026): https://posh.com/ai/
- Posh FAQs: https://posh.com/faqs/
- Posh, home services answering service: https://posh.com/industry/home-services-answering-service/
- Posh integrations: https://posh.com/integrations/
- TheKeyBot pricing: https://www.thekeybot.com/pricing
- TheKeyBot, KeyBot Lite: https://www.thekeybot.com/lite
- TheKeyBot features, AI call handling, automated quoting and scheduling: https://www.thekeybot.com/features
- TheKeyBot FAQ: https://www.thekeybot.com/faq
- U.S. Census Bureau, language spoken at home, 2018-2022 ACS (December 7, 2023): https://www.census.gov/newsroom/press-releases/2023/language-at-home-acs-5-year.html
- Pew Research Center, "Most Americans don't answer cellphone calls from unknown numbers" (December 14, 2020): https://www.pewresearch.org/short-reads/2020/12/14/most-americans-dont-answer-cellphone-calls-from-unknown-numbers/
- Federal Trade Commission, "How To Avoid a Home Improvement Scam" (July 2022): https://consumer.ftc.gov/articles/how-avoid-home-improvement-scam
- Google Local Services Help, "About ad rankings": https://support.google.com/localservices/answer/7527305?hl=en
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook, Receptionists: https://www.bls.gov/ooh/office-and-administrative-support/receptionists.htm
- 18 U.S. Code § 2511, Cornell Legal Information Institute: https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/2511
About the Author
TheKeyBot Team is dedicated to helping locksmiths grow their businesses through AI automation and smart technology. With years of experience in the locksmith industry, our team provides actionable insights and proven strategies.
